Life Extraordinary

How would one go about defining an ordinary life? Is it one where you end up with a family of your own? Is it when you get your dream job? Is it when you accomplish your ultimate goal in life? For the longest time in my life, I believed it to be this to be the case. I believed that a normal life is where you end up with the person you love, doing the work to enjoy, living a life of happiness. This was my concept of ordinary, and it was a great one. Granted I was but a child back then but I wanted nothing more than having an “ordinary life” but I now realize that this is not the case.

I have come to realize that if understood extensively, there really is no such thing as an “ordinary life”. And if there is, I can assure you that there are only a handful who are living it, in comparison to the world, ultimately voiding its status. After I had understood this I knew what I yearned for was not really an ordinary life. The ordinary lives that most of us live are riddled with trouble and hardships. With every corner we turn, we are faced with one problem after another, whether it be physical, mental or spiritual. This is what an ordinary life to me is, and I do not desire it. I desire extraordinary.

The goals that I had set for myself long before now seemed arduous. I realize it now requires work and effort. It requires dedication and unwavering resolve. These are not things that would just fall onto my lap while I slept, these are the things that would test me to see if I am worth it. Sometimes I would look back at all the things that went “wrong” in my life. All the hardships that I have faced. How life had kept on throwing punch after punch right at my face. Yet I am still here. I am still striving.

I have learnt a great deal from all of the troubles I faced. I am now sure of what needs to be done to achieve them. For now I will keep on keeping on, cause with every hurdle I face, I know that I am closer to what I want. And if I am not, I would now that I did all that I could to get to it, without regrets. And that itself is extraordinary.

“The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is that little extra.”
Jimmy Johnson

via Daily Prompt: Ordinary

2 thoughts on “Life Extraordinary

  1. Why are we living to live an ordinary life, or an extraordinary life. Life is life. The feelings we feel make up our life. I don’t set goals and I don’t pray for a good life. I pray I feel good in hardships and in ease. My happiness makes up my life. I don’t know if this makes sense. I enjoyed reading your post. Differs from my thoughts but in a good way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • True indeed. Your thoughts reminded me of this quote, I dont remember the exact quote or who said it but it goes something like, ” If you want your kids to be happy, teach them satisfaction of what is, not what could be” As always thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

