Luck of the Life You’re Dealt

I sometimes wonder what I would be like if I were to have been born anywhere but where I am from. Would I look the same? Would I practice the same religion? Would I think the same as I think right now? Would I be me? Its a wonder that no one gets to choose where they belong when they start the journey of life. Life deals you a random card from the deck of the world and you have no say in it. The hand you’re dealt can sometimes be lucky but most times I forget to remind myself of the immense amount of luck that I have been given.

I have been lucky enough to be born into a family that loves me. To have both my parents nurture me when I was but a child. I am lucky to have been born into a country which provided me with respectable education standards that helped me form and progress my thoughts and learn to think for myself. I have been lucky enough to have parents that were willing to fund me to further my knowledge even if it meant spending massive amounts of money to send me abroad. I am lucky that I was always given the best of healthcare through out my life even when I was diagnosed with cancer, helping me to overcome it. These are just a few of the things that pop into my head from a list of innumerable things that I am grateful for in my life.

It leads me to wonder about the people who do not get the same opportunities that I have been lucky enough to get. The children with no fault of their own, have been abandoned by their parents. The people who don’t have a home or enough income to keep themselves and their family fed. The people who have not been given the opportunity to further their knowledge because life demands that they focus on other priorities. People who have been suffering all their life in illness because they could not afford to pay for medicine. People who have been born in countries torn apart by war, finding themselves stuck in wastelands with little to no hope. These are the people I think about. These are the situations I feel most sympathy for because they had no say in what they get. They have been dealt a bad hand and their is no way of re rolling it.

I admire the people who rise up from situations such as those. I admire them more than the people most of us in this modern culture call “heroes”. They are true survivors. They are the people who accepted the shit of a hand they have been dealt. They are the ones who didn’t complain and cry about it, but instead took action to change it, the people who are in control of their lives, who do not rely on the luck of the world but challenge it. These are the people I admire the most, for they knew the secret to life long before I discovered it.

“Shallow men believe in luck or in circumstance. Strong men believe in cause and effect.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

 

via Daily Prompt: Luck

3 thoughts on “Luck of the Life You’re Dealt

Leave a Reply

