Controversies Circling Climate Change

 

Climate change is real. It is not a theory, it is a fact and anyone who can put one and one together knows this to be the truth. Controversy to this only arises when discussing who is to blame. A resounding number of people from around the world believe that it is a consequence of the actions of us humans. Without a doubt humans have been the most destructive species to ever exist on this planet. We have tamed the wilderness of landscapes and continents like no other. Yet on the other hand, there are people who argue that climate change is not due to human intervention to the natural rhythm but something that is controlled by nature itself. Throughout my whole life I have discarded these sayings without giving the even a chance to explain it, because from what I had seen from my own life and experiences, it was the former that I believed to be true.

Ever since I was little, people have been telling me over and over about how this was an issue caused by us. And I trusted their views unconditionally, going to lengths to defend my views and turn others to my cause. Never have I even thought of giving an ear to the arguments the other side has to offer, until now. I realized that for anything to be a discussion, you have to understand the other sides perspective. Why they believe what they believe and how they justify their opinions. I was very much surprised of what I had found from my research.

Before I start dishing out all the facts that I have found during my research, I would just like for everyone to keep an open mind about it. I know that this is a controversial topic that people would find offense against anything that they do not believe in. I believe that I am one of those people mostly because my country has the most to lose in this situation. Being one of the most low-lying countries in the world (only a meter from sea level ) I would like nothing more to just conclude that humans are the reason that global warming exists so that we can move to action for better change so that my country does not “sink” into the depths of the ocean. That being said lets move on.

Lets first address the number of people who agree that human actions are the cause of climate change. The Cook review [1] (a highly regarded peer-reviewed study containing almost 1200 peer reviews of thousands of scientists) shows that 66% of scientist state that they cannot confirm or deny that climate change is caused by humans. Going further, only 0.5% of the reviews studied stated explicitly about the situation. I was very much taken aback with this data that I had discovered.

I had to do even more research due to this revelation. All my life I have been told that almost everyone agreed that humans were the cause when reality was more in a grey area. The people who argued against me now did not seem as crazy as others had made me think. Through even more digging I had found other reasons as to why people might think that climate change is naturally occurring rather than by human intervention. I went through wave after wave of evidence that supported this theory. I found out that sea level has been on a steady rise for thousands of years [2] even before the industrial age to the fact that the trusting computerized climate models for future events might not be feasible when they cannot even replicate previous climate events [3] such as the ice age. As I followed the thread further and further, I found massive amounts of statements that argue for their case.

Here are some other things that I discovered. Peer reviewed study stating deep ocean currents are the main culprit for climate change, not humans [4]. Extreme weather occurrences are not because of climate change [5]. The rate of global warming has reduced within the years even though carbon emissions have been increasing [6].

To say that I was overwhelmed would be an understatement. Was everything I have ever known a lie? Was it just someone trying to push their agenda? I did not know what to believe at that moment. I had to do more research into my side of the argument and provide proof to why I think what I think, isn’t that funny? Having an opinion and only then finding evidence to support it rather than the other way round.

Then I discovered why people are hesitant to trust this other side. The Nongovernmental International Panel on Climate Change ( NIPCC ) that I have been citing some of the facts that I have mentioned have been discredited by the scientific community. This is the reason why people find it hard to believe evidence presented by the other side. Corporations and individuals who try to push their agenda under the guise of “science”.

Whatever you would believe, at the end of the day the fact that climate change is real will not change. It is the truth whether it’s caused by humans or not. It is something we should think about. It is something we should take action against for if we don’t a huge portion of the world population will be affected. While we argue with each other who the culprit is, why not take initiative to change it.

The most important thing about global warming is this. Whether humans are responsible for the bulk of climate change is going to be left to the scientists, but it’s all of our responsibility to leave this planet in better shape for the future generations than we found it.
Mike Huckabee

References:

[1] John Cook, Dana Nuccitelli, Sarah A. Green, Mark Richardson, Barbel Winkler, Rob Painting, Robert Way, Peter Jacobs, and Andrew Skuce, “Quantifying the Consensus on Anthropogenic Global Warming in the Scientific Literature,” Environmental Research Letters, May 15, 2013

[2] Patrick Moore, “Natural Resource Adaptation: Protecting Ecosystems and Economies,” epw.senate.gov, Feb. 25, 2014

[3] Joseph Bast and Roy Spencer, “The Myth of the Climate Change ‘97%,’” wsj.com, May 26, 2014

[4] Petr Chylek, et al., “Arctic Air Temperature Change Amplificaton and the Atlantic Multidecadal Oscillation,” Geophysical Research Letters, July 16, 2009

[5] Philip J. Klotzbach and William M. Gray, “Qualitative Discussion of Atlantic Basin Seasonal Hurricane Activity for 2014,” tropical.atmos.colstate.edu, Dec. 10, 2013

NOT TRUSTWORTHY

[6] Nongovernmental International Panel on Climate Change (NIPCC), “Climate Change Reconsidered II: Physical Science,” nipccreport.org, Sep. 2013

via Daily Prompt: Controversy

Leave a Reply

