Imagining Magnificence of Murmurations

I would like to say that this is the first time that I have ever heard the term ‘mumuration’ in my life. Upon some research I found that it is what one would call a flock of starlings. I thought not much of it until I saw a video posted about this phenomenon, and I must admit, it looked magnificent.

Imagine experiencing a mumuration in real life. When hundreds of thousands of starlings flock together and glide with the wind, each of them mere inches away from another, forming a black cloud of changing forms and shapes upon the setting sky. Feel the wind generated by the flapping of a million wings as they work together in unison across the vastness of the celestial sphere. Hear the vibrations that superimpose one another creating a nature music for everyone to take in. These are the things that flooded my brain as soon as I saw the video, and with it I longed to experience it myself.

Thinking about it more, there is much we can learn from these behaviors observed from mere birds. Sometimes we as people forget the power of the collective. How us regular folks have the greatest power among all. Just as the Starlings defeat their predator the Peregrine using the power of numbers, we too can overcome the obstacles that others may throw in front of us.

Though most of the time, we tend to forget that. Most of the time, we tend to do things by ourselves even if there are numerous others who are willing to help us through a tough situations. Sometimes I think that it would be an act of weakness to ask others for help. Or that it would be too much to expect someone to do such a thing for me. But through time and experience, I have come to realize that it is not the case. Asking for help from others is an act of strength, an act of courage, an act of determination. Being hesitant to ask just because there may be a chance of rejection is senseless. You will never know until you try. And most of the time, people who you would ask for such help will always be glad to help, and if they are not, then you would figure out who your true friends really are.

I leave you with the video that I had discovered, letting you think about the act of mumuration in itself and what it means to you. Trust in others who have earned your trust. Ask them for help when you need it, for no one succeeds by themselves, and surely no one is alone in their endeavors.

via Daily Prompt: Murmurations

 

9 thoughts on “Imagining Magnificence of Murmurations

Leave a Reply

