Deserved Recognition for my Parents

There are so many things that come to my mind when I think about my parents. Without them I would not be the person I am today. They have done (and are still doing) everything in their power to provide a better life for me and my siblings. Yet I remember when I was young doing things just to spite them. I regret all of it. They have done their best and even if no one else will recognize their work, I will.

Sometimes when I talk with my parents they would reminisce about my childhood, they would tell these stories about how I was and how life was back then. My dad would tell me how after I had been born he would go to another building blocks away to get clean water to wash and feed me. Back then the home I lived in was very rugged, the water from the well we had, had not been the best. And so my dad would haul water on his back everyday until our family could afford to install pipes. He would work extra hard to make sure that I got the best food, the best clothes and the best healthcare available during that time. I was their world and they were mine.

My mother would do the same. She would not let her attention wander from me even for a second. She would look after me, and teach me the things I needed to know. I remember up until my A’ levels (when the subjects became too advanced for her knowledge), she was the one who had taught me everything. She would regularly test me on every subject, made sure I was prepared for the tests and helped me with my school work. And when I had started my A’ levels, my parents provided me with tutor for that extra help I needed in a difficult subject. In fact she is the one I owe for introducing me to the world of art. She drew these wonderful landscapes when I was young and taught me how to color them. It has now grown into a passion of mine.

Yet when I was young, I would not appreciate and recognize all the sacrifices that they have made. I remember when I played the PlayStation for the first time. I had played it at some friends house and wanted one for myself so badly. I remember asking them consistently for one of it. The problem was it never released in my location, if you wanted one you had to import it from another country. Sure it might seem easy now but 15 years ago it was a leap. Yet for me, after months they had gotten one for me.

Jumping forward, my life took a turn for the worse when I was diagnosed with cancer. It was a traumatic experience for me, and I can only imagine how traumatic it would have been for them. In search of treatment my parents had left everything. My dad took time out of work, my mother accompanied me to a new country. And when funds ran low, they were not afraid to do what was necessary. My dad went back home to start working, he had also sold his beloved motorbike so that I could keep on getting my chemotherapy on time.

And now, here I am attending university all because of their financial backing. I am in no way trying to imply that they are perfect. There have been times where we as a family have sailed through troubled waters but when it counts I can always depend on my parents for whatever help I need, and for this I will forever be grateful. For this they deserve recognition. There is this one thing my mother would always tell me when I used to get mad at her when I was young. “You will miss me when I’m gone”, she would say. Without a shadow of a doubt, I will…

via Daily Prompt: Recognize

Leave a Reply

