Sentimentality of the Scent

Recently a great deal of events have started setting off lapses of time where I would reminisce about the life before I started attending university. A time of simplicity. A time when life had no trouble (for the most part; excluding that time I got real sick) . Mostly these memories are from when I was just a small child, maybe 9 or 10 years old. The things that sets off these moments are quite particular as well, like the scent from a cologne that I came in contact in an elevator.

This had happened a couple weeks ago when I was at my apartment. As usual I took the elevator down to go get something to eat. When I came out, this other gentleman was in front of me waiting to get in. As we both passed by this persons cologne hit me hard. And immediately I was transported to the past. I have not the slightest clue on how to describe this cologne but it brought up memories I had long thought forgotten.

I remember the heat of the setting sun. The gusts of wind that blew through the open plot of grass. I remember standing there with my uncle, learning to fly a kite for the first time. He always wore this same cologne whenever he took me to the park. As a matter of fact, I cannot think of a moment he did not use this scent. I dont know how to describe it but it was very distinctive. It brought me to a time when my whole family was together. When my uncles and aunts and cousins and grandmother and my parents would all live under the same roof. It was joyful experience to say the least. Sure like any other family, we had our problems, but the happiness of those days outweighed the sad.

Thinking back, I miss our meals together. Everyone sitting at this very long table that could accommodate at least ten people (we would huddle up if we were having guests), food from end to end, cooked by a combination of my favorite chefs, my mother, aunt and my grandmother. The room would be filled with the scent of food for hours on end. even after cleaning. I remember sneaking back into the kitchen to get some more leftovers to eat while watching the television in the living room.

Now here I am, just out of the elevator going to a little bistro just next to my apartment to have my first meal in 12 hours. Life has changed so much. I had food before because of the gratification it brought me, and now unless I am eating with company, I eat for sustenance. All these memories came and left in a flash. I wondered if life would ever go back to the way it once was, even for just a day. See all of my family sitting at one table, eating food cooked by them. Or spend time with my uncle like I did before. Maybe I am too old to fly kites with him now. That does not matter. As long as we are spending time catching up on the event of our lives. Who knows, maybe the smell of this memory that could happen will eventually remind me of it later on in life. Another sentimental smell for my journey of life.

via Daily Prompt: Scent

Leave a Reply

