Vincent Van Gogh

I am no art critic but this one painter has influenced a major portion of how I think about the things that happen during life as well as the people I meet along the way. This artist is non other than Vincent Van Gogh himself. Without a doubt in my mind, most of us know who he is. Even if you do not, I am sure you have at the very least heard his name or his most famous works such as The Starry Night and the Sunflowers.

“I put my heart and soul into my work, and I have lost my mind in the process.”
Vincent Van Gogh

From the many exquisite works by the man himself, I would say the most mesmerizing and most ethereal of his work is The Starry Night (main topic of the song by McLean as well). Nowadays it has become commonplace to see copies plastered to walls and used as backgrounds for blogs (like mine) yet how many of us really thought about the work? How many of us thought what it mean to the person who put his blood, sweat and tears to make it. More importantly how many of us thought what the painting (if not Starry Night another artwork from another artist) signifies to you? 

“If I am worth anything later, I am worth something now. For wheat is wheat, even if people think it is a grass in the beginning.”
Vincent Van Gogh

Most people do not know the life Van Gogh lived but there is much to be learnt from his endeavors. Through the last years of his life, Van Gogh had been suffering from crippling depression, so much so that he had at one point cut his own ear off and finally admitting himself into an asylum. An artist whose work was unrecognized during his lifetime. Eventually taking his own life with a gun on the wheat field that he was drawing, “The sadness will last forever” being his last words. His biography in itself is a good read but if you want something short and something more breathtaking, I would recommend you give a listen to the song “Vincent” by Don McLean (link here if you want to give it a listen right now!!).

Now I will leave you, the reader to your thoughts. Thinking about the times that either you or someone you know have been depressed. The times that you thought of yourself as worthless. I want you to know that you are not alone. Even the greatest of men and women to walk this earth have gone through moments such as yours. I want you to find closure and even a bit of happiness in these circumstances. If not happiness then acceptance. though luck as no part, I wish you the best of it. I wish that you will get through whatever the hardship you are dealing with. And i hope that you will blossom to achieve the greatness that you know you are capable of. I leave you with a snippet of the song Vincent, hoping that something inspires you as much as Van Gogh and his paintings have inspired me.

Starry, starry night
Portraits hung in empty halls
Frame-less heads on nameless walls
With eyes that watch the world and can’t forget

Like the strangers that you’ve met
The ragged men in ragged clothes
The silver thorn of bloody rose
Lie crushed and broken on the virgin snow

via Daily Post: Exquisite

via Discover Challenge: Greatest Artist in the World

Related: Capability

4 thoughts on “Vincent Van Gogh

  1. Pingback: Finding Aesthetics in the Unlikely | The Anonymous Life

  2. I loved this article.
    Yes, I have seen a couple of his paintings including the Starry Night. Yet, I never bothered to look up his tragic but beautiful story.
    Thanks for letting me know. Because otherwise, it would have been my loss.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

